No Spark from Coil on 1986 Mercury 3.0 140 Help!!!

Rockslide

Cadet
I just bought a 1986 Eclipse Mach I bowrider with the Mercury 3.0 140. This boat has less the 200 hrs and was winterized and garage kept for the last 12 years. By that I mean it was left in the garage at the lake house for 12 years without being started. I serviced the outdrive, oil change, thermostate, hoses,and plugs and put fresh fuel in it. The engine turns over with no problem, good and strong. But I'm not getting any spark. I checked if there was spark coming from the coil but no spark. Being this old I bought a new one and still nothing. I traced the wires using the diagram and all connections look good. No cuts, nicks or crimps anywhere. I have 12v to the terminal on the coil but thats where it ends and my hair pulling begins. I'm not a mechanic but have a pretty good grasp on basic electrical.I'm at a loss and running out of season. Any help is much appreciated.

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: No Spark from Coil on 1986 Mercury 3.0 140 Help!!!

Points replaced?

Rockslide

Cadet

yep. Just did the points and rotor. I put an inline spark tester and now I have spark to the coil and out of the coil. I put the tester inline on the no.1 spark plug but have nothing. Whats next? I fell like I'm running out of season!

Petty Officer 1st Class

replaced the cap

Rockslide

Cadet

The cap has very little wear. No damage or moisture. I cleaned the carbon off the cap contacts with a dry qtip and it came clean as well as the rotor contact on the cap.

generator12

Senior Chief Petty Officer

What lies between the coil hi-voltage output line and the number 1 spark plug?

The cap, rotor, and the hi-voltage line from the cap to the plug.

Take your choice.

skyking897

Petty Officer 1st Class

I put an inline spark tester and now I have spark to the coil and out of the coil.