Mercruiser stern drive - does this sound normal?

JackBronson

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello,

First time boat owner. Been around the block with cars a lot, decided to try some boating. Acquired a 1987 Starcraft 191S, Mercruiser MCM 230, 230HP 5 liter, engine serial number B530375, drive unit serial number 0B539283, Alpha 1.

First drive on the water the engine started hesitating above 3000 rpm. I could do 30-35 mph fine but when I tried to throttle beyond that it would stutter or act like it was going to stall, recover, stall, etc. So my first question is what to look at for that issue? I looked under the cap, rotor and cap both good. Nothing obvious under the hood. Had fuel in it.

Ran it at home and the motor runs fine above 3000 rpm. Took it up around 3800 rpm without a problem with the drive disengaged.

The next issue is when I engaged the drive. It seemed OK but as I increased the RPM it didn't sound like I thought it should, but being an outdrive newbie I captured a couple of videos and hope someone can give a list and tell me if this sounds normal. On the video taken with more light at about 7 seconds I can hear what sounds like a grinding noise as the motor accelerates, again a little when accelerated more, and then right at the end as the drive is powered down. the second video I took from on the boat hoping to get some better sound (but worse video).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6WL76iDyas
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8FgakMsH2U

maybe the sound is normal and its just the prop making the noise.

any feedback anyone can give me would be much appreciated. thanks in advance.

ktbarrentine

Lieutenant
Re: Mercruiser stern drive - does this sound normal?