'03 Mercruiser 4.3 carb'ed engine will not run

Been

Recruit
Hi everyone,
This is my first post as a new member, so please try to be gentle. I am not an engine expert but consider myself a reasonably intelligent person. Here is my situation (please tough through the long read!), any guidance would be GREATLY appreciated!
Bought a used 2003 Chapparel 183SS with 69 hours on the motor about 2 months ago. Mercruiser 4.3L V6 I/O (Alpha Gen 2 outboard) carbed engine with Thunderbolt Ignition (serial# 0M373780). Test drives with previous owner went well, other than the first time out being a slightly labored start (had to pump the throttle a few times to get a smooth idle). Did not have that issue 2nd time out for a test run. Bought the boat a what I felt was a good price.

Took the family out on the boat twice on back to back weekends. 1st trip everything went well with the boat. This is my first boat, but I think everything was normal. Ran the boat around, mainly cruising, for about 4 hours without issue. Literally half a mile from the ramp, cruising at very low speed to let the kids drive, motor dies with audible alarm. On inspection it looked like the drive oil monitor/reservoir was leaking and was just below the fill line. Disconnected the line to it to silence the alarm. Starting back up took a few minutes, but it did start and we made our way to the ramp at low speed.

Over the next week I replaced the reservoir, changing the drive oil in the process. Made sure everything was as it should be and tightened back down in place. Also installed an amp and 2 sets of speakers to replace the stock stereo.