Bad Water Pump... Signs?

jmw129

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hey Guys,

I've replaced the impeller on the out drive and thermostat. Now the engine continues to over heat in idle.

How can I tell if the water pump mounted on my engine is working correctly?

gus-gus

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Bad Water Pump... Signs?

The tell tale should be a full stream, is the only way I know of. I am sure there is a method of checking water pressure in the cooling jacket, but have never read about one or would know what pressures to expect.

jmw129

Petty Officer 1st Class

The tell tale should be a full stream, is the only way I know of. I am sure there is a method of checking water pressure in the cooling jacket, but have never read about one or would know what pressures to expect.

Full stream of water coming out of the water pump if I take the hose off correct?

gus-gus

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I am far from an expert, so take my suggestions as such. Just trying to help you.
I believe the hose for the tell tale is from the water jacket, not directly from the pump. The pump could be pumping well, and the thermostat not opening, which would mean a limited flow from the tell tale I think. I would suggest another thermostat.

Fishermark

Vice Admiral

What are you working on? There is no typical "tell tale" for an I/O like there is on an outboard.

81 Checkmate

Lieutenant

What did the old impeller look like before you changed it out?

Fishermark

Vice Admiral

If you are sure the water pump was installed correctly, I would turn my focus to the manfolds and risers - check and see if they are clogged with rust, etc.

jmw129

Petty Officer 1st Class

If you are sure the water pump was installed correctly, I would turn my focus to the manfolds and risers - check and see if they are clogged with rust, etc.

Took off the exhaust manifolds and found the manifold gasket on the passenger side is horrible. Looks like previous owner custom cut their own manifold gasket.