93 Bayliner 4.3 Mercruiser, won't start

TeamSorad

Cadet
Hi everyone, I have done lots of searching and looking around these forums. I am trying to figure out my boat, everything will turn over and the boat with "run" when I turn the key but as soon as I release the key it dies. So basically it fires up then dies or will run if I keep the starter going. I ran a hot wire from the + on the coil and the boat runs great. I am not very good at troubleshooting (I found the chart from other another thread)

I took the dist cap off and noticed the ignition sensor is the old open style and it looks pretty terrible/bad so I went and bought a new one gonna install that tonight. My other thoughts are the ignition switch or the thunderbolt IV module (It is the second gen with the triangle plate)

Any help would be great, I know there are lots of threads about this and I am doing the old replace stuff till it is fixed (which I don't want to do) but at least I got it down to a spark/ignition problem :D

Would the sensor in the dist cause it from starting? and I am not really sure what the hot wire to the coil and running means..

1993 Bayliner 2050LX 4.3 Mercruiser stern drive 0d831996 I would love some manuals if they are available

A little back story, I bought the boat last summer with some carb problems put a street edelbrock on and it ran great all summer. Put it away for winter, returned the carb and just bought an oem rebuilt boat carb (4bbl webber style) to get it ready for this summer.. Now the no starting, but started with the hot wire to the coil

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Re: 93 Bayliner 4.3 Mercruiser, won't start