1988 Marlin mercruiser. All i get is a click.

jjh242

Seaman Apprentice
Im restoring the motor mounts and floor boards on a 1988 Marlinc mercruiser that has been sitting outside halfway covered for 12 years. I am about ready for the new floor boards and decided i wanted to make sure i wasnt going to have engine issues. I hooked up a battery and all i am getting is a click at the circut breaker on the eingine. I changed out the starter relay to see if that was the issue, still getting the click. If i bypass the starter relay and connect strait on to the starter the start will spin. I am new to boats and am not really sure what to do next. Any help would be great thanks guys. Also all other electronics work. Lights, Bilge and blower.

Bondo

Staff member
Re: 1988 Marlin mercruiser. All i get is a click.

Im restoring the motor mounts and floor boards on a 1988 Marlinc mercruiser that has been sitting outside halfway covered for 12 years. I am about ready for the new floor boards and decided i wanted to make sure i wasnt going to have engine issues. I hooked up a battery and all i am getting is a click at the circut breaker on the eingine. I changed out the starter relay to see if that was the issue, still getting the click. If i bypass the starter relay and connect strait on to the starter the start will spin. I am new to boats and am not really sure what to do next. Any help would be great thanks guys.

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,....

we'll need to know What motor, 'n What drive ya got,...
Serial #s are a Big plus...

So far We know ya got a 1988...

jjh242

Seaman Apprentice

Its a 230 Horsepower Mercuiser and the manual i have here says Stern drive. If that doesnt help i can go out n get the serial number. thanks for the quick reply.

jjh242

Seaman Apprentice

Serial on Outdrive is oc508554
Serial on Engine is oc544147

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

This should help you locate your starting problem.
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=167035