Lower Shift Cable replacement on Pre-Alpha

Status
Not open for further replies.

ezez

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm at the point where I believe a need to replace the lower shift cable on my Pre-Alpha Mercruiser 260. I have the common "dies when put it in gear" symptom and it appears the lower shift cable is almost always the culprit. While I am up in there screwin around I may as well replace all the bellows. I am not scared of turning a wrench but I have no experience with this specific work so, any wise words before I tear into it? Also, bellows and shift cable should set me back about $250-$300 does that sound right? How many hours am I going to be dinking around with this repair? (my guess is a weekend) I had expected to get this thing in the water for the summer and do the bellows this fall but it appears I'll get them done now.

I have read this instruction on SternDrives and it would seem that it would apply for my Pre-Alpha/R Replacing Your Shift Cable

Previous post on the ongoing sage of the "project boat". BTW I did rebuild the engine sea water pump and the engine is now cooling properly.:) So, at this point the project boat has had the carb rebuilt, power tilt rebuilt, both sea water pumps rebuilt and now...lower shift cable and bellows.

Thanks for any and all help:D

ezez

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Lower Shift Cable replacement on Pre-Alpha

bttt

SDSeville

Lieutenant

I just finished changing all the bellows and the water intake tube on my boat, which involved removing and replacing shift cable. It took about 4 to 5 hours and I am a true novice. I watched a few youtube videos and read the manual. One thing I learned from a youtube video that really saved me some grief was to just cut the old bellows and water tube while while disassembling. Those clamps are really hard to get to. Make sure you have a good flexible socket extension.

$250 to $300 sounds about right for merc stuff. Less if you use Sierra.

ezez

Petty Officer 2nd Class