Mercruiser Carb Electric Choke adjustment

Status
Not open for further replies.

blackrider

Seaman
Hello,
My name is Jared and I am from Cincinnati. I am new to boats but am a mechanic so I have the mechaical skills to work on my own stuff but am just unfamiliar with certain operations of boats mechanisms. After reading some of the posts on this board I am more than confident that someone can help me out. You guys all seem very good at what you do.

I have a Mercarb ( P/N 1389-9562 ) off of a 1989 Mercury Marine Engine (model MCM 3.0 litre ), displacement is 181, rated HP is 130HP. The thing was running terribly so I put new plugs, wires, points, condenser, rotor and rotor cap at it. I set the point gap at .022 on the peak of the rotor. After all of that it would at least idle without shutting down but it was iding very rough.

I just rebuilt the carb by following the manufacturers instructions. It is totally reassembled now and the linkages are back in place but I am a bit confused about the choke settings. Isn't the choke plate supposted to be wide open unless the electric choke engages it to close?

The way I set it up following the instructions has it mostly closed.

I can post pictures and video of the linkage in action if that will help.

Thanks in advance.

CobiaXL

Banned
Re: Mercruiser Carb Electric Choke adjustment

Choke should be closed when cold.Set the choke to close with very little resistance.Then 12volt will slowly open choke within 2-3 minutes usually.

airshot

Rear Admiral

I rebuilt mine last year, the recomended settings for the choke were way off so gradually I kept resetting each time I cold started until I found the setting that worked best. Mine is set much leaner than what the instructions called for, however mine has been converted to electronic ignition as well. Do not know if that makes a difference or not, it is still a bit rich if the weather is warm, but starts well in the cold mornings in the fall.

Airshot

blackrider

Seaman