In boat replacement of Freeze Plug

mjolensk

Recruit
I'm a reasonably good back-yard mechanic who has purchased an older boat to test the waters of boating life. I have to work on the boat on the trailer , out doors and limited lifting capabilities from above. I have successfully rebuilt several car engines, including freeze plugs, but this is the first boat inboard motor. I have to replace the freeze plugs on a 1975 OMC 190HP Ford engine .... the ones behind the front engine mounts. These mounts are the select-trim hydraulic mounts. I do not have a manual and am hoping that I can JACK / Support the motor from the side of the engine and remove the engine mount to make the repair rather than lift the engine out of the boat. I'm looking for suggestions / comments before I start. What do I have to watch out for? Is there enough flex in the rear moints to allow this? I would also like to know if the SELOC manuls I see on line would cover the engine removal / repair along with the stern drive portion .... or is there a better source for this information?

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: In boat replacement of Freeze Plug

Well consider the season and the warmer weather. If you want to do it fast and in place why not use an expandable plug from an auto parts store. They are fast and easy. When the season ends you can concentrate on doing it right. <br /><br />Just trying to get you on the water faster.<br /><br />Bob

mjolensk

Recruit

The problem is that I can't get at the freeze plugs because they are behind the hydraulic motor mounts. Doesn't look like room for a rubber expansion plug. After investigating further, it looks like I have to support the engine somehow and remove both hydraulic mounts at the same time, not one at a time.

Wellcraft 89

Petty Officer 2nd Class