Milky oil 2.5l OMC coming off from Winterizing

capeless

Cadet
I am new to I/O boats, but am pretty handy when it comes to auto's and anything with an engine.

My boat is a 1986 Cobia Sportster 172 vbr. It has a GM 2.5l OMC. Thats all I really know at this point.

I just bought this boat, I pulled a noob move and forgot to check the oil. I think I'm screwed, but hopeful still. I live in Maine and it is still cold so I do not want to hook it up to muffs yet due to freezing temps. I was told it is winterized and there is proof of empty RV coolant bottles. We started the boat but only let it run for a couple seconds due to not using muffs.

There is still a large amount of ice below the engine. It looks like the oil pan may have been partially submerged where water could have come in the oil drain plug or the dipstick tube??? Condensation??

The water may have been higher in which it could have come in through a vent of some sort but I have no evidence of that.

This is a preliminary panic post, I haven't drained/refilled the oil yet because I can't gain access until the ice melts.

This may sound dumb, but what does oil look like after the engine has been "fogged" or winterized?

By the way, this site has a ton of useful info. I will be referencing it often. Thanks.

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Milky oil 2.5l OMC coming off from Winterizing

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,... Is the plug now out of the hull,..??
Is it draining on warmer days,..??

Donno if you've got a Stringer 400, or a Cobra drive, but either way,...
Now you need a new raw waterpump impeller, as runnin' it Dry ruins 'em...

Locate the Block, 'n Manifold drains on the portside of the motor, 'n Open 'em....
Hopefully, antifreeze runs out, or it was stored Dry....

Oil, should look like Oil....

What's the oil Level,..??

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner

I was told it is winterized and there is proof of empty RV coolant bottles.