winterize searay with mercruiser 7.4/bravo 3

dave01searay

Recruit
new to boating with 1st boat and 1st time to winterize. I've put in fuel stabilizer, changed oil and filter, changed fuel filter and gear lube. i drained the block and exhaust manifolds by removing 4 blue drain plugs. Now wondering about AF options. Am i best to remove hoses and dump AF in rather than using muffs? If so please specify which hoses to remove to be safe for the winter in kansas. Also where is a good place for 7.4 engine diagrams, I'm still learning what is what. Also please advise on fogging the engine. is this step just for carb engines or for mpi motors? thanks for your help.

cr2k

Captain
Re: winterize searay with mercruiser 7.4/bravo 3

Don't forget to drain your heat exchanger (power steering) and leave the drive down.

iamthunderman

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Where did you find all the drain plugs?

I have only found 2 on the sides, none for the block :-(

crewscontrol

Seaman

I have a 2001 270DA. This is what I do. Add fuel stabilizer. Fill fuel tank to top with no-ethanol gas. Change engine oil. Change oil filter. Change Bravo III oil. Remove the 5 (I think) drain plugs to drain water out of engine (2) and manifolds (2) and PS cooler (1). Make sure you poke a piece of wire into each hole. Accumulated crud often keeps all the water from draining. Remove the hoses from the raw water pump and the "cool fuel" heat exchanger if you have one and drain water. Replace all hoses and plugs. Turn on onboard water pump and let it run until all water is pumped from the water tank. Open all faucets and the water heater drain and let all water out. To make sure all water drains out of the water heater, open the relief valve to let air in.