Mercruiser OEM to performance????

18WCmerc

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Im a very experienced engine builder...automotive wise; I'm a pretty new marine engine guy.

here is where my question emerges. when can factory/aftermarket automotive parts interchange with marine engine parts? First, a little more information into my situation.

I have a 188hp mercruiser ford 302/351 mutt. Now, I have all intentions of putting on performance intake/4bbl carb/ignition system/cam&lifters/fuel pump on my merc. However, i broke the points last boating trip, figured I could snag up some cheap ford points/condenser kit from my local autozone...mmmm not so much. spent 30 bones on a special mercruiser site for just the points! necessary but crazy. Whats a homie to do right? so before i start dumping money into cool aluminum and shiny parts that promise 10 hp to the wheels...i mean prop lol, what is really interchangable?

at a quick glance it seems as though intake would have its snags...special throttle cable mount on a 2bbl carb, circuit breaker/harness connector mount, what else could be different?

Just gonna check before i carelessly toss my hard earned cookies away...

If no one has been down this road before, I'm going for it, then ill make a write up about how it just doesnt work lol. or a mercruiser to ford/chevy conversion chart.

thanks everyone

18WCmerc

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Mercruiser OEM to performance????

just one more thing... ive seen a lot of posts around here about guys wanting more power out of there motor and what not, i know it takes a lot to get more speed per hp on marine application. This is a grade-A waste of money want a winter project kinda thing, i understand that im throwing money at something to gain 10 hp that will help me gain 1mph. This is more an aesthetics thing and bragging rights, and boredom. just to squash any shinanigans before they start.

Thanks again...

Howard Sterndrive

Rear Admiral