Bravo Two only slides back 1/2"

gill

Seaman Apprentice
I am a tech myself and I have this bravo two that will only slide back on the studs 1/2" I was able to disconnect the shift cable from the drive but still won't move any farther than that. I am thinking the drive shaft is stuck in the engine or coupler. Anyone have any fix or procedures for this.

havasuboatman

Ensign
Re: Bravo Two only slides back 1/2"

That happens.
Been a tech long? You are gonna see it again.
Could be the driveshaft splines are gunked up with crap, or rust.
Or a severely misaligned engine. (or both)
You are just going to have to work at it. And check the front motor mounts. Do they seem abnormally low or high?
I've had to use pry bars between the bell and the drive to get some to release. When they do release, it's all at once usually, so be careful.

JustJason

Vice Admiral

disconnect the trim rams, lift up the drive, and stick a 2X4 in there. Then drop the drive on the 2X and bouce it a few times. It will ususually come.

gill

Seaman Apprentice

been a tech for about three years bud, and believe it or not this is the first I/o drive that has not just fell right off for me. I will try the 2x trick, seems like it might work for me. thanks

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral

I had one with a rusty drive shaft.I cut wedges of wood and carefully hammered them between the drive and the gimbal housing.Popped it off...

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner

Or re-install the rams and put a spacer between the top cap and the transom housing,
GENTLY use the up trim ,re-space, up trim, etc.

havasuboatman

Ensign

been a tech for about three years bud, and believe it or not this is the first I/o drive that has not just fell right off for me. I will try the 2x trick, seems like it might work for me. thanks

I meant no offence, the second or third drive I took off was one of those tight ones, and it was so long ago that I doubt this site even exsisted.
I ended up on my butt with the drive just missing my nuts.