Mercruiser 4.3 oil filter location

TahoeDaddy

Recruit
I just purchased a 2004 Tahoe Q4SF with a 4.3 Merc. 190hp.I went to change the oil and for the life of me could not locate an oil filter. So my question is 1) Is there an oil filter on this engine? 2) where the heck is it located?

It is equipped with an oil drain hose that you pull out of the bilge drain plug hole. This took a couple of hours for the oil to drain as it just dribbled out. Is this how it's suposed to work?

Thanks

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Mercruiser 4.3 oil filter location

Ayuh,...

The block mounted Oil Filters are down low, aft, portside of the block...
And,..
Yes, the remote lines drain Very Slowly...

TahoeDaddy

Recruit

I have a lot of mechanical experience in the automotive side with GM engines. I have built several Street Rods and muscle cars all with small blocks.
I looked this engine over carefully, I used a mirror, and I felt all over the block also. I even looked at both sides just to make sure. Does anyone know for sure that ALL 4.3 V6 mercruisers do indeed have an oil filter on the block? Even in the Mercruiser parts catalog for this year and model they do not list an oil filter. They do however list a remote oil filter mounting kit. The fact that I cannot find one on the block makes me think that they built them without one unless you added a remote.
I could not believe they would not but I have not owned one of these with the V6.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Does anyone know for sure that ALL 4.3 V6 mercruisers do indeed have an oil filter on the block?

Yes they do, in the Same Exact Place as the automotive engine. Unless they have a remote filter.
If it's not on the block where bondo suggested, try looking just in front of the port exhaust riser. It's probably mounted upside down and has large diameter (1"OD) hoses going down to the location where a block mounted filter would be at.

JustJason

Vice Admiral