Left or Right hand rotation, Mercruiser 260

Sea Raider I

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Forum search turned up nothing useful to this quesiton:

I am in the process of rebuilding heads and came across the head gasket selection of Right or Left hand rotation. I have right hand rotation set in hand.
(5.7 ltr, GM 350)

I can tell you the rotor spins in a clockwise direction when facing the motor #1 on right hand side,(not sure if this helps). Can anyone help to determine my rotation with this info?

What are the differences in the gasket set on which way the engine turns?

Any help is appriciated, :confused:

Thanks...

dan t.

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Left or Right hand rotation, Mercruiser 260

this is an opinion only. I have been an automotive mechanic for 35 years and I cant see engine rotation having anything to do with head gaskets. this sounds like another "marine" only rip off

chiefalen

Captain

Thats a new one on me to. Never heard of left and right handed gaskets.

Marine gaskets yes, ie: for saltwater use are metal impregnated. And are a must if you boat in saltwater, but for marine use, use marine gaskets period.

Good luck !

Bondo

Staff member

I can tell you the rotor spins in a clockwise direction when facing the motor #1 on right hand side,(not sure if this helps). Can anyone help to determine my rotation with this info?

Ayuh,...
On a Chevy, the Distributer Always turns the Same way....
If the Pulleys on the front of the motor turn Clockwise,...It's a Standard, Left-hand Rotation...
If this is a Merc. I/O motor,.... It's Standard, Left-hand rotation....

chiefalen

Captain

Rotation is determined bye facing the motor from the rear, or flywheel side of the motor.

Left handed as Bond-o stated.

A little confusing because you looking at the front, pulley side.

chiefalen

Captain

You bought it from this site ?

Then get ready for a worry free deal.

And a wise choice cause they stand behind the products they sell 100%.