regular motor oil vs marine motor oil

cpubud

Chief Petty Officer
what is the difference between the two. I always run marine oil and a friend of mine uses regular oil from auto parts stores.his motor is a mercruzer 5.0 inboard outboard. he also runs a fram oil filter from auto parts as well he says it the same as a 305 smallblock chevy .

cmyers_uk

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: regular motor oil vs marine motor oil

Im no expert on oil but its down to additives. Car oils to my knowledge dont contain rust inhibiters, they can contain less zinc dialkyl dithiophosphate as cars run less load. This is a good chat about oil http://www.carbibles.com/engineoil_bible.html.

Basically the ingredients/addetives that make a very good oil are expensive which is why you cannot get cheap oil with the same properties as an genuinely expensive oil. You can obviously pay alot for a cheap oil but you cant get a good oil cheap.

Cheers

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,....

I guess you didn't bother trying this question in the Search function,....

Here ya Go,... This has the Absolute Answer to your questions,....

The Biggest Difference between Marine rated motor oils,+ Any other oils is Marketing.....

Your motor will run Just Fine,... For a Long Time,...
If fed a steady clean diet of Any motor oil you can buy off the shelfs of your local WallyWorld.....

Now,.... Let the War begin,.........:rolleyes:

xxxflhrci

Chief Petty Officer

For 23 years,my I/O has had nothing but Pennzoil 30wt and a cross referenced filter from the auto section used on it. It still runs like new.

wca_tim

Lieutenant Commander

Ayuh,....

I guess you didn't bother trying this question in the Search function,....

Here ya Go,... This has the Absolute Answer to your questions,....

The Biggest Difference between Marine rated motor oils,+ Any other oils is Marketing.....

Your motor will run Just Fine,... For a Long Time,...