difference between boat motor and car motor gm 350

Status
Not open for further replies.

delsol

Senior Chief Petty Officer
hi whats the differences between a gm 350 marinr motor and a car or truck motor..i was told block is heavy duty like a truck motor cam. oil pump. gaskets . nopt counting bolt on's
if you run only in fresh water is it a must to get a marine motor
thank s bob
it may be a dumb question but

Haut Medoc

Supreme Mariner
Re: difference between boat motor and car motor gm 350

Most notably, the cam & brass core plugs on marine applications ......
A GM truck engine would have a cam that was close enough for marine use.....JK

MelLandry

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I'm no expert, but I've been through this myself.

From the info I gathered, a 350 longblock truck motor is similar enough to the 350 marine to be interchangeable. The cam profiles are not exact, but they're similar. The true "marine" parts would have to be made for that purpose (carb, alt, fuel pump, etc.) and the "freeze plugs" would have to be changed to brass.

The cam profile on a car motor would put the RMP at max HP (hence WOT range) outside of the safe consistent operating range used in boating. The engine parts couldn't handle the high RMPS.

You'll also have to ensure you have the right replacement motor (2 piece rear main/1 peice).

Like I said... I'm no expert, but my boat has a 350 longblock truck crate motor in it, and I haven't had any problems yet.

Buttanic

If you want as good or better than "marine" I would go to a 350 1 ton truck long block crate engine. These have all the heavy duty parts and a cam that is almost a duplicate of marine. If you run salt water and not closed cooled replace the core plugs with brass.

cam may have a differant profile, but that is just the tip of the iceburg.
1. anti corosion paint.
2. brass plugs in block where water jackets meet the heads.
3. special water pump with sealed berrings as opposed to automotive type that is lubricated by coolant.