3.0 conversion to v6 or v8, 1984 Glastron Conroy

Hi all, new to boating, ive had this boat a few months and totally love it.. the interioir and gel are less then a year old so boat is pristine cosmetically.. the women opted for the prettiest boat which of course came with the 3.0 mercruiser. Engine was not overhauled and isnt the prettiest but runs great.. while researching gimbal bearing and bellow replacement that i recently did i noticed a lot of people have put 4.3, 5.0 and 5.7 engines in the same boat (of course they adjusted the ratio in the outdrives to ensure propper prop speeds) my question is who else has done this? Im a locomotive diesel mechanic by trade but a jack of all trades master of none so im not afraid of the callenge but i have big ears and i can listen.. i was going along the lines of a working order "donor" boat to swap for my HP.. any pointers or knowledge would be greatly appreciated.. alpha one gen one out.. im looking for any economical mechnical advice i can get. Thank you.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
my advice to you, since you are new to boating

start with using your existing boat for a few years prior to swapping motors.

you will find that you will want to sell your boat for something bigger. that is when you buy a boat with the motor you want.

nola mike

Vice Admiral
Curious what model you have? Why are you swapping? Disagree that it isn't worth putting in a new fresh engine if you like the boat, but would agree that you run it for a while to see if the boat suits you. I'm looking at the same choice. Decided to redo my floors and interior, and am going to swap in a 4.3 at some point. I briefly thought about a v8 (why would you put in a 5.0?), but didn't want the weight penalty. The v6 is already going to be adding a couple of hundred pounds.

achris

More fish than mountain goat