3.0L 140hp mercury engine 1985

Knot_rite15

Recruit
Hey all I have a 1985 StarCraft islander
It has a 3.0l 140hp murcruser engine. My friend sold it to me I knew it had engine issues. He mechanic says it's a head gasket. No water in the oil but they did compression test water shot out the one spark plug hole . They had to limp it in but it was running . How do I figure this out or what do I have to do to get this thing running again. Was going to put plugs in and hook up hose and run it and see what happens.
Or what you guys think i should do, and what tell tail signs of the head gasket being bad before pulling head off. Again it's a 3.0L 140hp murcruser 4cylinder I'm new to this type of engine used to outboard mercury engine so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you again
Matt owner of knot_rite and hell on reels

tlewis1

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Well a compression test and leak down test sound like they are in order. That will tell you whether or not a head gasket is required. Those would be the first two thing I try. No need to try and run the engine up without performing those two things, may just cause more damage.

bman440440

Petty Officer 1st Class