simple Alpha one gen 2 drive install question

CJK440

Seaman
I did a gimbal bearing and bellows recently on a 96 Alpha One gen 2. First time wrenching on something without 4 wheels. Installing the drive with a new paper gasket and round rubber seal in the bellhousing. I got the drive installed, shift shaft and lever aligned but there was a small gap between the drive and the bell before the nuts were run down. I couldn't seat it any further by hand. Maybe a 1/16 of an inch.

I'm assuming this is the new round rubber seal that is waiting to be compressed (between the U-joing bellows internal lock ring and the front of the drive shaft housing extension) by torquing down the 6 drive nuts.

amigright?

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
If the gimbal bearing was not fully seated in the bore, that would account for a gap, what did you use to install it?

CJK440

Seaman
If the gimbal bearing was not fully seated in the bore, that would account for a gap, what did you use to install it?

I used an install tool mounted on an alignment tool and a mallet. It felt fully seated when I reached inside and tried to feel it against the step in the transom housing.

CJK440

Seaman
No Title

How does this seal work (a in the pic). Does it butt against the bellows lock ring and the front of the drive unit pilot or does the drive unit pilot enter the ID? In my haste I did not grease the OD of the drive unit pilot and can see how a dry rubber/metal fit could cause some resistance. I'll remove the drive tonight, grease up the pilot and try again. I have a feeling this is my issue.

Attachments

• photo245062.PNG
    photo245062.PNG
    35.9 KB · Views: 2

Rick Stephens

Admiral
That big 'square o-ring' should be glued in tight against the ledge using bellows cement. In 2 or 3 dozen drive installs have never felt that o-ring during install.