4.3 V6 Rebuild Not running right

mattmullen

Cadet
Hi Iboats,
I'm stumped and I need some help. I bought a basket case 1991 Sea Ray last fall.
Over the winter I worked on rebuilding the 4.3 v6 that blew up because of lean burn detonation.
It fires right up and runs on my home made stand but cylinder #3 is not firing, if I pull the plug wire at a variety of engine speeds there is no change. When you hit the throttle and as it comes back down it idles very poorly for 10-15 seconds and then evens back out. I have also noticed some condensation on the insides of the valve covers and the bottom of the intake manifold (I am not sure how much of this is normal I am new to marine engines). If I pull the risers right after running I see some droplets of water on the cylinder #3 side none on the other bank of cylinders. When I pull the spark plugs on that side #1 looks textbook perfect burn #3 and #5 look rich (all black and sooty). #2, #4 and #6 look textbook as well.

I have done the following
Pressure tested cooling system-It leaked down slowly from 15psi to 5 in a weeks time.
Leak down test-good on all cylinders
Compression test- good all cylinders at 150 psi +/- less than 5 psi
Checked spark- good blue spark on #3
Adjusted the valves meticulously

New Parts in rebuild
Pistons-.030 over Sealed Power
New Roller Lifters
Rebuilt Heads
Edlebrock 1409 Marine Carb
Edelbrock Performer Manifold
Delco Voyager EST Ignition/Distributor
Aluminum HGE Exhaust Manifolds and Risers

Heres a video of it running today.
Any ideas?

alldodge

Staff member
I think you sucking water back into the motor. What cam is in the motor?

alldodge

Staff member
I'm going to take that back, you have an intake water jacket leak
foam.jpg

That's water isn't it? What does your oil look like?

mattmullen

Cadet