Mercruiser 3.0 / 140 Engine Knock, Ticking Noise

Status
Not open for further replies.

hooligan603

Recruit
I love these forums. I've been a marine mechanic/boat builder now for over forty years and I will occasionally search these forums when I come across an issue that I may be looking to short-cut on and find a quick answer. In the last two weeks I had to boats in the shop with Mercruiser 3.0/140 engine in them that both had knocks. The first was an easy repair, a simple valve adjustment. The second had me scratching my head trying to convince myself I didn't have a major issue on my hands. (I did.) I also reassembled a 3.0 for a customers boat and I'm in the middle of tearing down four 3.0/140 engines we have laying around the shop in order to put one good one together.

While on the forums I found some information that concerns me and I felt I should respond by posting something myself. Now, these engines are known to develop a knocking sound and it can usually be attributed to needing a valve adjustment but let me take this a step further; they are also oil sensitive, you MUST maintain the proper level in the crankcase and you MUST change your oil when it needs it. My concern was piqued when some members said that when their brand new boats were knocking since day one, the dealer told them "That's normal with the Mercruiser 3.0 engine and you should just ignore it." NEVER ignore an engine knock, damage will occur, or has occurred already.

Here are the steps I take when I have this engine in the shop for a knock. (This is assuming the engine is otherwise in good working order, i.e. timing is properly set and not needing a "tune-up".
1) Try to determine where the knock is coming from to help pin-point the problem.