Mercruiser carb autochoke question, with pictures

I'm totally new to boats, and it's been a while since I worked on a car with a carb, so can anyone tell me what's wrong with this picture?

Boat takes a while to start, but I got an assistant to turn the key while I rotated what I presume to be the choke by hand, and it started right up.

As you can see there's a bit of twisted wire trying do something, but it's a bodge that doesn't appear to be working.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Dave.
b1.jpg b2.jpg

gm280

Supreme Mariner
Dave the Scot, that is really hard to say because those wires seem to be very small gauge wires and not the usual gauge for an electric choke system. If you could remove the air cleaner and snap a few more pictures from different angles to allow us to actually see what you are seeing, then we could possible make more sense from that area. JMHO!

ziggy

Admiral
don't know if this pic will help or not. my 165 is an L6, i think yers is the 4 cyl. mercrusier version. not sure if it used the same carb i got. but anyways.

i'm gonna guess the wire tie you have is to keep the linkage in the cam and the cam in the right position. the cam down by where the wire is. i had a carb on mine that that cam would flip over to the wrong side. (something wore out about it) my answer was a different carb.

Thanks guys. I should have clarified it's not an electric choke, and the wire I was reffering to was just tying something together.

So, I think Ziggy is correct, and it's probably used to prevent the cam from going the wrong way. Presumable a new clip will cure this.

However, I doubt that is what is causing the autochoke from coming on?

My brain hurts until I understand the system :-(

Hold on a sec....

I didn't get a manual, and have never had a boat. Am I just starting it wrong?

Is there something I'm supposed to do with the throttle lever?

Watermann

Starmada Splash of the Year 2014