1977 Johnson 70 hp bogging down with cowl on

hatboat

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all, I could use some help. My 70 hp 1977 Johnson outboard is bogging down with the cowl on. With it off, it performs well. I've had the fuel pump changes, impeller done and just added some sea foam which seems to have improved performance, but still with the cowl off. The carbs have recently been redone. The compression is 135, 132, 128 respectively. I'm assuming there is an exhaust leak but are they any quick fixes I can do to see if it does the trick. I'm not a boat mechanic and don't really want to sink more money into it.

One thing that I've noticed is that when I run the motor for an hour or so, it runs well. After that period, it bogs down and in some cases, stalls when I put it into gear. I'm assuming that this is due to it heating up (although it is not over heating).

On a side note, just behind the fuel filter, there is a little hole and gas is leaking out of it..it drips a little bit constantly.

Many thanks for suggestions and help.

Bosunsmate

Admiral
Have you checked the air inlet on the cowl is clear?
Otherwise you will need to undo the powerhead and lift it up to replace the gasket unless that fuel dripping is making the air mixture in the motor too rich. Id sort out that leaking fuel first as that means air can also be leaking into the system

hatboat

Seaman Apprentice
Just checked the air inlet on the cowl and it's clear. Any thoughts on why the fuel filter would be dripping gas like that out the back?

hatboat

Seaman Apprentice
Thanks, see attached. It was just rebuilt about 2 weeks ago.

Attachments

• IMG_0310.JPG
    IMG_0310.JPG
    118.5 KB · Views: 0

hatboat

Seaman Apprentice