1958 evinrude lark 35hp no power

Bahummbugg

Cadet
I just cleaned the carb. Rebuilt fuel pump and changed all fuel and vaccum lines. It revs up no prob in neutral but when i put it gear it won't go fast enough to pull the drain plug.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Heard this complaint many times !---Sounds like it is running on one cylinder.----This motor has 2 ignition systems and one may not be working.------Does spark jump a gap of 1/4" on both leads, yes or no ?

Bahummbugg

Cadet
I put new plugs in as well. Yesterday i took it out and when i put the choke on almost full she kicked in At high speed

F_R

Supreme Mariner
High speed needle adjustment could be set too rich. That would make it chug along and waste fuel. So will running on one cylinder, that's why he asked about the strength of the spark. I would be even more demanding and ask if you pulled the flywheel and checked the ignition system.

Bahummbugg

Cadet
Im a bit of a noob dont know much about spark gap im on the water now and also haven't checked ignition sustem

nwcove

Admiral
Im a bit of a noob dont know much about spark gap im on the water now and also haven't checked ignition sustem

as mentioned, you need to trouble shoot properly. i will ask the question again, will the ignition system make enough power to jump a 1/4 " open air gap on BOTH plug wires? if you can say yes, move on to fuel/air delivery.

Bahummbugg

Cadet
I checked the gap of spark. Top plug has blue spark going from wire over a half inch away so Bottom plug no spark at all so whats next. Take flywheel off is where im at now anyone have a spare coil in the toronto area that would like to sell

racerone

Supreme Mariner
I am about 3 hrs from Toronto.-------This failure is very common.--------Most marine shops will have that coil in stock.-----Yes it is that common a part used in motors up to about 1986 and even later !!!!

Bahummbugg

Cadet