115 evinrude spark no power ?

kodibass

Master Chief Petty Officer
I have a mid 80's 115 e-rude, it has 110 compression on all 4 cylinders, and good spark on all 4 jumps a good 7/16 gap on all 4 cylinders. when running if I pull the spark plug boot off of the strbd cylinders there is a noticeable change in rpms, but when I pull a boot off the port plugs there is no change at all ? So does this mean the port cylinders are not getting fuel? I'm not sure how the carbs deliver fuel to these v motors I thought that the top carb sent fuel to both top cylinders and the bottom carb sent fuel to the bottom cylinders is this correct? Anyway something don't seem right any thoughts/help most appreciated I have very little experience with the bigger motors this one was a free-bee.

Bosunsmate

Admiral
yes thats it but the carbs have two bores one feeds port one feeds starboard, a blockage in the port side jets etc would cause that but i expect youd be hearing a backfire/lean sneeze if that was the case.
Pull your plugs, note any colour difference, then clean your plugs then turn the engine over for five seconds with the sparkplug wires grounded (or your safety line disconnected).
Remove plugs, Check that your port bank plug tips a wet with fuel, compare them to the starboard side

Bosunsmate

Admiral
Also check that none of those port cylinders look clean- ie waters getting in there.
If all that checks ok then move on to timing

kodibass