33hp Evinrude 33952a, cooling system question.

Desjark

Recruit
Hi folks, I'm new to boating and have just purchased a 14' aluminum boat with an Evinrude 33hp outboard. The previous owner said it hadn't been used for several years. I set it up with a water barrel to try starting it. After correcting spark issues, it started up fine but noticed ants crawling out of the engine base. At the same time I didn't notice any water exiting the cooling hole in the midsection. Assuming I had an ant farm in the cooling ports I removed the foot to check it all over. Below the water pump, was plugged with dirt. I replaced the impeller and its base plate while I was at it. I hooked up a garden hose to the stand pipe the goes from the pump to the motor and flushed it out.
Well, now it's all together again and test run again, but I didn't see any water coming from the hole in the midsection for a few minutes, then it came for a while. It appears to be hit and miss, sometimes water comes out and then not. I removed the foot again and retested with the garden hose and noticed a small pin hole about halfway up the stand pipe. Could this be the reason for the lack of water or is there even an issue? I don't know how much water actually should come out? If this standpipe is the problem, how do I replace it?

racerone

Supreme Mariner
That is a drilled hole from the factory.------Water should pour out with the exhaust.---Sounds like there is more blockage that you need to find.

Desjark

Recruit
Someone mentioned the thermostat. I didn't think this had one and I can't find it in parts catalog. ???

Desjark

Recruit
Yeah I kinda figured that. I couldn't see it on the engine nor the part catalog. I can't see it being more blockage since it flows water occasionally. Is it possible that the water is just going out the exhaust?

racerone

Supreme Mariner