1978 Johnson 35hp fuel problems?

duckmn56

Cadet
This is my first time working on a marine motor this size. I have rebuilt many small engines, but am more of a hobbyist.

I have a pull start motor that fires, but one of the cylinders fills up with fuel at the reed valve after the crab. Either simultaneously the carb will end up with fuel coming out of the air inlet. I have to open coke to let it out. The cylinder that fills is on the left when facing the engine from the boat. At least that was the last time I checked. I should note that the boat was on a tilted surface so liquid would flow to that side. Ive replaced the spark plugs and have them set at 0.03, have 50:1 fresh mix. Engine starts and runs when the carb is off and most of the gas is cleared and a small amount sits on both sides.

History

I initially thought it was the carb. I cleaned and rebuild the entire carb float and all. I tried to set the float so it was parallel horizontally with the carb when upside down. I seem to have a more firm bulb. After rebuilding the carb I attempted to start the engine. It fired but stopped running after a few seconds. I realized the choke had slid in after it died. I could not get it restarted as usual with this fuel problem.

I then removed the carb and checked for fuel at the valve, and did not see any. I removed the carb because there was fuel coming out of the inlet as usual. I checked the rebuild and found I forgot the center seal. Put it all back together and I got it to fire but not start. Fuel out of inlet again and wont start. I have not removed the carb a third time since I am trying to not disturb the new seal I put on.