new boat owner! any info will help! 1977 johnson 70hp outboard motor

ni_cole_b

Cadet
I recently bought a 1977 Orion fishing boat and it has a johnson hp70 outboard motor. I'm new to the boating life so I was hoping I could get a lil info, advise, knowledge from you about my motor. As far as gas/oil mixuter, type of gasoline that's recommended, information about cleaning the carborater & plugs. When I 1st bought it, it had a half tank of gas (3gals) I took it on the water & it ran great, had speed & power. Didn't have no problems, but then I went to take it out for a second time and had to refuel the tank. It had a lil gas left in it but not too much, so I did as previous owner said put 1pint of 2cycle marine oil to 6galons of gas. I used the basic 87 unleaded gas you get at a gas station. When I hit the water my boat had a hard time starting, when I finally got it started it had no power or speed. And sometimes even shut off on me. It would turn right back on immediately but I just putt putted around the lake. A very different experience for me compared to my 1st run. Do you have any helpful tips for me? Id really appreciate it! -Nicole

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner
Check to be sure you have spark to all 3 cyls when you think it's not performing well. A cyl drop test is a good one, or you can check for spark with an automotive timing light. Make sure the engine is well warmed up when doing a spark test.

eavega

Lieutenant
You might also want to inspect the carburetors. If you had a good run, then all of a sudden you are not working right, some bit of crud might have broken loose and is now plugging a jet somewhere.

Another good indicator that you are not running all three cylinders is if you run it on a hose and an excessive amount of sludge is coming out the exhaust. That sludge is unburnt fuel/oil mix and would indicate you are not getting combustion in one or more of the cylinders.