1986 Evinrude 150 no power under load

johntwright27

Recruit
Hey ya'll I am a college student fishing in the collegiate series and bought a boat last year. I am certainly no mechanic but have pretty good mechanical know-how, but am at a loss on this outboard. I bought a 1986 Stratos with an 150 Evinrude in good shape.... or so I thought. This thing has been to two different mechanics and nobody can figure out what is going on.

First Mechanic did this-

New powerpack
New impeller
New lower unit oil
New spark plugs
New spark plug wires
New fuel lines
New exhaust housing

They had it for three months but couldn't get it running right. I took it home and hooked up the muffs to see what it was doing. After a bunch of carb cleaner it fired up, but would POP every now and then. Sounded fine and would rev up good just popped every once and awhile. So I took it to another mechanic.

Second Mechanic did this-

Rebuilt carbs
Link and sync
New throttle cable