Johnson 70 HP [Evinrude 50 HP] Tiller Arm Wiring

fishingfrenzy

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello!

I am trying to install a tiller arm steering system on my Johnson outboard, but I have a few questions on some of the wiring. The engine is a 1975 70 HP Johnson (70ESL75B). The tiller handle is from a 1985 Evinrude 50 HP tiller steer motor. I have the tiller handle mounted, the shift connected, and the throttle ready - all I need to do now is finish the wiring. I have six total wires - I need to figure out how I match my wires with the OMC color coded wiring.

From the handle, the starter has two wires coming from it:
yellow/red
solid red

The Choke/primer - two wires:
white/purple
solid red to

Kill switch - two wires:
Two different solid black wires

Thank you so much!

Last edited:

gm280

Supreme Mariner
I have no knowledge of your particular engine. BUT, you could search on the net for your engine model number and see a total breakdown of the options and wiring diagram(s) for your engine to help along. I do that all the time so see how things are assembled and wired. Another suggestion is to purchase the original "Factory" shop manual. I guarantee you everything will be in that manual you could ever want to know. But make certain it is the factory engine specific shop manual and not some after market manual that tries to cover every engine. There IS a huge difference between the two... JMHO!

fishingfrenzy

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Thanks for the response! I've searched everywhere I can think of online - I feel as if I have exhausted my capability to figure this out on my own.

jbcurt00

Staff member
Lets start at the beginning:

What year and model 50hp Johnson?

This motor was offered in a tiller version, this just isn't it?

Last edited:

fishingfrenzy

Petty Officer 3rd Class