General Engine Rebuild Questions

fmjnax

Chief Petty Officer
Motor is an '84 Johnson V4 115. I was battling a poor idle all last season (but it did run and was usable). I was going to sell the boat and cut my loss, but decided to try and find the problem. The carbs are off and have been freshly rebuilt. The intake manifold is also off (I was checking reeds and such). I ran compression on it tonight and got the following:

90 on top right
89'ish on bottom right
50 on top left
89'ish on bottom left

I checked them all 5 times each, with the same result. So suspecting a cylinder problem, I pulled the head cover and then the head. With compression that low, I was expecting to see a huge mess or a sure sign that something broke or got stuck. I found quite the opposite.

I'm just a shade tree mechanic and have never worked much at all with cylinders and such, so I might be missing something obvious. The ONLY thing I see is a groove in the lower-right of the cylinder. You should be able to see it in the picture. Otherwise, the rest of the cylinder is very smooth.

Nothing else looks out of place, or really any different than the bottom cylinder. Looks like carbon buildup on the piston head, but looks normal to my untrained eye. Back side of the head looked like a little carbon buildup as well, but not bad. The head cover was nasty and had a white lithium grease looking gunk all over it that I have no clue what it would be. The head gasket was intact, albeit obviously old and nasty (same for the head cover gasket). Nothing appears stuck or burnt, again to my untrained eye.

I haven't put any fuel through the block since August, but I did give each cylinder a squirt of premix and a couple hand turns before testing the compression. The batteries haven't been charged since August either, but were disconnected until tonight. If the battery was weak, I would have expected low compression on all 4, though.