1982 johnson seahorse 4hp waterpump question.

johny 4

Cadet
Hey im new to this 'forum business' and thought id give it a go as here in NZ finding much info about specific maintainance of my 4hp is really difficult. I was given this engine and have given it a good service (useing info from the very cleaver contributers of this forum).
Its a j4brcnr sn A692011..
So the last mission I have is the water pump/ impeller check, and It didnt start extremly well when i looked and realised one of the two lower unit bolt heads was snaped.. sorted that and found impeller to be in good condition, do I need to use sealant on the housing? What type/brand? Someone said to they used permax or something? Not sure we have that here in New Zealand.. I did scrap some stuff (looked to be old sealant) off the houseing of the impeller where it meets with the plate/metal gasket. It appears the plastic houseing is maybe ever so slighly warped as I could possibly poke a playing card between it and the plate below it (havnt put any sealant on yet , waiting to see what you guys think.. also os there anything else to watch out for when putting lower unit back together.
Thank you very much for ur time in advance..
Guy

johny 4

Cadet
Or maybe a light sand/ file with a stone to flatten and return bottom of houseing to it original completly flat base so I wont need to apply sealant ( or not as much)?

Boat Doctor1

Petty Officer 2nd Class
actually -no sealant is needed at all!! dont tighten those upper housing screws too much either as top housing is plastic!! is there any water in lower unit oil?? if so as ur in there now=??--- u can replace the lower water pump seal -thats where the water usually comes from!! also id water?? replace the reat propshaft seal too!! bearing places will have those seals-or marine dealers. Hope u got the broken bolts out?? when used in salt water - usually have to use a torch to heat & remove the bolts or they will break off due to corosion!!

johny 4

Cadet