*New Boater* Evinrude 90hp Won't Start First Time Without Starter Fluid

Status
Not open for further replies.

sthorne

Recruit
I am new to boating! Problem: When I first try to start my 1988 Invader boat with a 90hp Evinrude it won't start. I press the bulb to prime and it is tight but won't start. I put a little starter fluid and it starts then stays running sometimes! I pulled the connection off the quick disconnect and pressed the bulb and to my amazement no fuel came out...like the line is plugged then I tried to disconnect the end into the boat and all of a sudden it freed up and gas came out. What do you think. Again once running the boat runs great. Just won't start first thing and the process starts all over. Thanks and need help!!

surftrish

Seaman Apprentice
Re: *New Boater* Evinrude 90hp Won't Start First Time Without Starter Fluid

Is the fuel tank vented? If vent is not open, you will get vapor lock. My guess is gas is flowing once you disconnect the line because that vented it. :)

Forktail

Ensign

Welcome sthorne!<br /><br />"I pulled the connection off the quick disconnect and pressed the bulb and to my amazement no fuel came out...like the line is plugged..."<br /><br />The quick disconnect has a check valve (ball) in it. When disconnected, fuel should not flow out the line. This is normal.<br /><br />You can push the little ball in with a small screwdriver and pump the bulb. Fuel should now come out. Be careful not to damage the o-ring and ball, and your eyes!<br /><br />It sounds more like a clogged fuel filter or a choke problem.....not getting the fuel. Are you choking the outboard? Checking the vent is a good idea too. :)

snapperbait

Vice Admiral