OMC Piston - vs - Wiseco Piston... and why?

Jmorrell588

Seaman
I am trying to decide which Piston to go with for my 90hp Evinrude VRO Crossflow. <br />I have heard both good and bad about Wiseco. I talked to a person today who has told that I should go with Wiseco Piston. He had said that they are stronger pistons since they are forged. Unlike the OMC Piston which is cast. So, which one is the best for my Motor? Also was told that I have to warm up longer for Wiseco Pistons. <br /><br /> Jimmy

Hooty

Rear Admiral
Re: OMC Piston - vs - Wiseco Piston... and why?

You've got another piston option. They're Pro Power Pistons. They're cast, not forged but are a lot tougher than OEM pistons. It might not be so with the newer ones but Wiseco's used to require more piston to cylinder clearance due to expansion. <br />Dhadley will probably have the last word for ya though.<br /><br />c/6<br /><br />Hooty

Walker

Captain

I've been using Wiseco pistons for 10 years and have never had a problem with clearances. I'm fairly certain that my machinist cuts my cylinders to OMC specs. Wiseco's are a lot cheaper than OMC especially if you can fine your pistons on Ebay. If you want to try to find some on Ebay get your piston number and cross match it to all models that it fits because the seller might list it for another application. I just bought one for a V6 crossflow that was selling as an 88SPL.

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner