89 Evinrude 88 SPL rpms?

slapshotjh

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1989 Evinrude 88 spl with a 13x19 prop pushing an 18 foot sea pro center console. <br /><br />With just me in it and not much gear, the boat turns a maximum of 4800 rpms and 31 mph. Should I be using a different prop? Should the motor be turning in a higher rpm range.<br /><br />I have fresh plugs in it and 87 octane. Any help would be appreciated. The motor is mounted in the lowest slot on the transom if that helps, and it has power t/t.<br /><br />Thanks,<br /><br />Jon

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner
Re: 89 Evinrude 88 SPL rpms?

You're 1000 rpm too low. Raise the motor to get more WOT rpm's. Change the prop as required. What brand/style prop are you using now?<br /><br />Good luck!

slapshotjh

Seaman Apprentice

I got it cheap $130 at West Marine.<br /><br />It is a Michigan Wheel, I believe. The blades appear to be cupped.<br /><br />How high should I raise the motor? <br /><br />I am new to all of this. You suggested changing the prop as required. Which way should I go?<br /><br />I tried a 13.75x15 for a little whie. The boat revved to 5800, but I lost top speed considerably. I feel that the boat should be travelling at 35 mph or better. Am I expecting too much?<br /><br />Any more help you can give will be greatly appreciated!<br /><br />Jon

Big Rod

Seaman Apprentice

slapshotjh, My 2 cents worth, I think, from past experience, a 17" pitch would put you in the 55-5600 RPM range (good place to be) and if you don't mind a little sweat, the trial & error method for optimum height adjustment is worth the trouble. The highest adjustment on transom possible without cavitating in turns. Keep tring til you get that 35 mph, it's possible...

slapshotjh

Seaman Apprentice