1984 Evinrude 150 xp VRO pump needs replaced?

Hello all, I am new to iboats and fairly new to boat repair. I have been working on a rebuild of my 1984 Evinrude XP 150. I'm close to having all the gaskets replaced with only the carbs and intake left. She starts up just fine, but won't run for long (guessing once carbs are empty of fuel). I have replaced all of the fuel lines and primer bulb as well, so with the exception of an carb issue I'm guessing that this is a fuel pump issue. It has the original 1984 VRO pump on it, but has had the oil side disconnected for years (bought that way and was told oil side went bad and tank was removed). My question is can I just replace it with a regular fuel pump or does anyone know if it can be rebuilt without breaking the bank. Have had no luck researching online and any help would be appreciated. Pump is the vro 150 174128, believe this the the first year they put these on.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1984 Evinrude 150 xp VRO pump needs replaced?

The 1983 model of your motor used 2 fuel pumps. You might be able to find a used set.--------But I never spend $ without inspection to see if parts are bad.----So take the VRO apart and see if anything is wrong with it.----VRO pumps are often replaced when there is nothing major wrong with them.

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner

You've got 3 options. 1. Replace the VRO with today's current part number. 2. replace the VRO with the similar pump, but without the oil pump on it. It's a premix type pump. Will save you maybe $ 90 over the price of a full VRO type. 3. Put the old style dual premix pumps on from 1983 type model. You will have to install a second pulse line hose barb on the block to drive the second pump. (it's already predrilled on the front of the block. A dealer can help you with pricing.