johnson seahorse 50hp throttle lever

burnsie88

Seaman Apprentice
Hi Guys,

im new to boating and am having problems installing control cables. When the cables are connected upto the control box and the motor it jams once the throttle should start to accelerate. The control box works fine with no cables connected and with the cables not connected at the motor and the cables are brand new so i dont think the problem is either control box or cables.

I tried attaching the cables to the motor and pushing it through by hand but it still wont move the throttle lever hence i think thats the problem. I can move the lever by hand but it does seem alittle hard.

Is there away i can make it easier to move the lever?

Thanks in advance for your responses!

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Re: johnson seahorse 50hp throttle lever

Is this a 1958 model ?

burnsie88

Seaman Apprentice

Im not sure of the model, it doesnt have the normal plate on the mount but heres a picture.

today i layed the cables in a straight line and tried pushing them through and it more the trottle but it still took a alot of force to get it to move. So it think the the way ive run them is adding to the problem as well.

Attachments

• johnson 50hp.jpg
    johnson 50hp.jpg
    30.1 KB · Views: 0

bonz_d

Vice Admiral

Next question.

Which throttle control box are you using? Is the warmup lever on the top or on the side?

hardwater fisherman

Lieutenant Commander

just an idea for you. if the motor is in neutral or reverse it should not open full throttle. only when the motor is in forward gear can you slide the throttle all the way.

bonz_d

Vice Admiral

If the cables are free from the engine then the throttle should move easily in either direction. If they move freely then the problem is somewhere inside the engine, or the control box once it is connected. Is the throttle warmup lever all the way in the down/run position?