1958 Evinrude 35 cooling problem

Jimmiller

Cadet
Hello; I am relatively new to outboard motors, but I have a pretty good mechanical background in cars, trucks and motorcycles. I ppurchased a 1958 Evinrude 35 Big Twin, that had a bad Impeller. I replaced that, but I'm still not getting any water out of the discharge hole. The Motor is running Hotter than I think it should. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank You.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1958 Evinrude 35 cooling problem

Is the water intake area free of debris?

What was the condition of the impeller housing and plate? Did you seal down the plate? Did you remember the drive pin?

Try flushing and backflushing compressed air, or the garden hose, up and down the cooling circuit. Was the old impeller missing any chunks?

What was the condition of the grommets for the water line? If swelled, or if the water line is not greased, it could prevent water flow.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

...also, are you running this on a boat or barrel? If barrel, is the water line up high enough? It has to be a couple inches below exhaust port. the pump MUST be fully submerged, it is not self priming. A dinky little barrel will not cut it.

Jimmiller

Cadet

...also, are you running this on a boat or barrel? If barrel, is the water line up high enough? It has to be a couple inches below exhaust port. the pump MUST be fully submerged, it is not self priming. A dinky little barrel will not cut it.

I'm useing a 55gal barrel and the water is about right, pin and seal correct. Yes - the Impeller was missing some small pieces of rubber. The only thing I can think of, is I haven't tried to flush the water passages. Inlet area is clear of debris.

Jimmiller

Cadet

I'm useing a 55gal barrel and the water is about right, pin and seal correct. Yes - the Impeller was missing some small pieces of rubber. The only thing I can think of, is I haven't tried to flush the water passages. Inlet area is clear of debris.