1956 Johnson FD-10 and 1957 CDL-14

mattk715

Recruit
First off, I am not a very mechanically inclined person.

About 5 years ago I bought a 12' boat. He threw in two engines that were winterized but he did not know if they worked or not. I kept them in my garage but never had any need for them (the lake I usually fished in was restricted to electric motors only). I just moved close to some larger lakes and thought I'd see if these engines worked. I looked up the model numbers and the motors are a

1956 Johnson FD-10S and a 1957 CDL-14

I was able to start both of them up today, but both leaked what I assume is the winterizing fluid, it wasnt the oil/gas mix, but I'm worried if i ran them longer that the gas would start leaking out. Should I be worried?

Both motors appear to be clean and in good condition on the inside. the cases are a little beat up but no cracks or anything.
Are parts for these motors difficult to find?
Are these motors worth anything in working condition?
Any help would be very much appreciated.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1956 Johnson FD-10 and 1957 CDL-14

parts for both of those are still readily available.

Im not sure what you mean by leaking winterizing fluid? Where were they leaking from?

They are not worth a lot money wise, but are great fun to run and own. If you are looking at mechanically restoring them, then flipping them, don't plan on getting rich.

If you plan on keeping them, start by testing compression. The FD will be in the 90 to 140 psi range, and should be equal between cylinders. The CD will have less, in the 70 to 100 psi range, but again should be equal.

Then test spark. Spark should jump a 1/4" gap on a tester with a bright blue ZAP!! If the coils are original, they will be cracked and need to be replaced. You can see the ignition if you remove the recoil starter, then remove the access door on top of the flywheel.