1976 johnson 9.9 suddenly not starting

Jmac870

Seaman
Hey guys I am new to outboard motors and forums both. I recently bought a johnson 9.9 (10E76G). when I bought the the motor it would barely idle for longer than a few seconds which i attributed the the top coil having 2 large cracks in it , but both cylinders read 95 PSI on compressionn gage so i bought the motor anyways as it was very cheap. A couple weeks ago i replaced the cracked coil with a brand new one and switched out the champion plugs for NGK B7HS and the motor started up ran in the barrel great (from idle.to WOT). Since then the only work iv done on the motor was replacing the gear oil in the lower unit, but today when I put the motor on the barrel i could not get it to start for the life of me and the gas is brand new with outboard mixing oil at 50:1. I checked both plugs for spark again and all was good there can smell gas so fuel must be coming through the line. should my next step be to order a carb repair kit and attempt a repair? What could have changed so drastically in 3 weeks of sitting?

Bosunsmate

Admiral
Re: 1976 johnson 9.9 suddenly not starting

Things can crawl into carbs and block them up.
Ground the plug wires and pull the rope a couple of times. Remove the plugs and check they a both getting fuel.
A carb clean/service is a good thing to do with any new to you motor

Bosunsmate

Admiral

By the way someone will ask next if you tested spark properly, ie that it jumped a 7/16" gap

Jmac870

Seaman

Cant say i actually measured the gap but did notice the bottom plug does not seem to jump as far as the top (new coil on top) but spark still looks blue

Jmac870

Seaman

Bear with me here as i am a beginner but to check if the plus is getting fuel when i remove it there should be gas on the plug itself? should also add the motor ran great before even though the bottom plug seemed to not jump far

Bosunsmate

Admiral