1995 Johnson Ocean Runner 200 lower unit issues

One more issue with the boat recently that needs to be addressed. When I purchased the boat it already had a dinged up Stainless prop and a lower unit leak. Unfortunately I managed to hit the boat ramp the second time I was out at the lake. It has always had some vibration on take off and figured it was due to the prop, but now Im suspecting that the prop shaft may be bent. Regardless the seals need to be replaced. I'm an automotive mechanic and by nature I'd like to do as much of the work as possible by myself. I haven't checked the runout of the shaft yet, but will probably do that later today after work. My main question is how difficult of a procedure is it to change the lower unit seals? I know I have a leak and also that water is being sucked into the lower unit as well from the milky look to the gear lube. I've searched the forum, but have yet to find a similar make/model/year to get a better idea on the repair.

Also if the prop shaft is bent, are there specs on acceptable runout. Sure it can't be more than a couple thousandths. Was going to look into getting it straightened, and may or may not just have the seals done at the same time.

Thanks for any advise.

Last edited:

bob johnson

Rear Admiral
Re: 1995 Johnson Ocean Runner 200 lower unit issues