1972 65hp Evinrude - stalls on forward on water (under load)and very hard to restart

jeftfm

Cadet
Hi all again. Got an issue that started off with the motor getting a bit hard to start but would eventually catch after a minute or two. Put into forward and ran rough with very little power - just enough to keep it slowly moving forward. After a couple of minutes it would clear itself and run fine. But after a couple of days of use the problem has got worse and now it stalls when put in gear (Note this is on the water - is OK on the muffs under no load)
I had thought I'd need to rebuild the carbs so did so but it the problem remains.(I'm a home mechanic, have checked my work but possibility it's not 100%?)
To date here's what I have done

Cleaned and rebuilt carbs with rebuild kits (replaced gaskets, and float needle with orifice. Didn't use the caps.)
Cleaned and blew out high speed and low-speed jets with air (didn't remove from carb as haven't the proper tool).
Checked fuel passes through jets OK
Replaced fuel lines to carbs and recut fuel line to fuel pump just to be sure.
Low-speed jets - started motor, set start point at 1 turn out from fully in and adjusted 1 at a time inwards until engine ran rough then backed out 1/4 turn.
Replaced spark plugs.
One by one removed plugs and noted rpm drop on all 3 (so assume spark and plugs OK)
Haven't done a compression check as don't have the tool.

When I start on muffs if it doesn't catch first time when cold (with choke) then it's difficult to start - turns over fine at good speed and almost ignites just on the limit of the throttle before the throttle-lever-advance-won't-allow-you-to-start mechanism prevents me going any further forward. Also have seen splashes of fuel on the carb throat but assume this is cause I flood it by sometimes leaving choke on too long?