30 HP Johnson electric start on the blink. Could use some advice.

robertjp

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a 1995 30 HP Johnson electric start tiller. Last year when I went to start it,I would press the button and all I would hear is a grinding or humming noise. If I kept pushing it eventually, it caught and the motor started. Recently I just tried starting it after the winter and same thing, I kept hearing a humming noise and finally it caught and started right up. Im guessing this is the electric starter??? Maybe not pushing up the teeth to catch the main sproket of the engine??? Was wondering how hard this will be to replace and how expensive. Im not a outboard mechanic but just know the basics. Here is a pic of the inside. Can anyone explain what is happening and my remedies? Thanks much. Bob

Attachments

• photo 1.JPG
    photo 1.JPG
    129.9 KB · Views: 0
  • photo 2.JPG
    photo 2.JPG
    106.6 KB · Views: 0

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Re: 30 HP Johnson electric start on the blink. Could use some advice.

There is no need to rush out and buy a new starter !------these starters are extremely easy to take apart for inspection.---Then again it may just need a wee bit of thin grease on the bendix threads.--------A fully charged known good battery should also be tried.

Daviet

Fleet Admiral

Also make sure that ALL electrical connections are really clean and tight.

robertjp

Petty Officer 2nd Class

How hard is it to get out of there to look at?

F_R

Supreme Mariner

Don't jump to conclusions. Observe what is actually happening. Chattering sound often comes from the starter solenoid, which is usually caused by loose or corroded battery cable connections. Don't just look at them, take them apart and clean them shiny bright clean, and reassemble tightly.

robertjp

Petty Officer 2nd Class

its not a chattering sound its like a humming sound sort of.

racerone

Supreme Mariner