Evinrude Lark 2 kill switch?

boxchevyman

Seaman
Hello im new to working on old outboards but possess some mechanical know how. I have the Clymer manual for my motor and it has been very helpful. I also have checked out the TOP SECRET files. But I need some advice on how to wire up my ignition kill switch on my 1960 Evinrude lark 2. The factory Key switch is busted (key is tore off in slot) so I was thinking about wiring up a push button start and toggle switch kill switch? So does this circuit apply voltage to the vacuum kill switch or does this just complete the ground?

So in other words do I just take the wire that goes to the vacuum switch to one end of the toggle kill switch and then the other end goes to the ground? Or am I reading the wiring diagram wrong?

Thanks a bunch.
James

Daviet

Fleet Admiral
Re: Evinrude Lark 2 kill switch?

If I remember correctly, the cutout switch only kills one cylinder. You need to connect both black wires coming from under the mag plate to a ground to kill both cylinders. You can run both black wires to one side of the toggle switch and a ground wire to the other side of the switch so that when you flip the switch it grounds both sets of points. If you use a push button switch to kill the engine, just connect one black wire to each side of the switch when you push the switch it grounds both sets of points together and kills the engine.

oldboat1

Fleet Admiral

been a couple of recent threads that would be relevant, and you could do a search for more. The one from a few days ago, or so, dealt with a '58 Johnson, i think, and had a good clear wiring diagram among the responses (for the model considered in that thread).