1975 Evinrude 115hp carb clean

Hey guys,

Once again looking to you for friendly advise. Had numerous small problems with our 1975 Steury TriHull... Fixed everything easy; new control cables, new battery, new plugs... We are having a cold start issue... just cranks does not even stumble. After cranking and cranking, by hand, pulling plugs to prevent flooding, it just comes to life....

(I hate the my car is broken, it just doesn't feel right; Im a service manager for a car dealership. What, Why, how, etc)The only "Evidence" I have other then a long time to start cold, fires right up within 2 hours of previously running. When we are attempting to start it we notice fuel dripping out from under the air intake/carb, when attempting to start, will get a nice little puddle under it. We spray it out, and it does not leak when just sitting or running, only when cranking.

Boat Co-Owner and I have put our heads together and think maybe a carb cleaning....

So big question, If we buy the carb cleaning kit with gaskets and what not, do we need to do an overhaul? or is it literally just pull it apart, clean, and put it back.... without any crazy adjustments or syncing or anything?

Hoping it's pretty easy, He's a mechanic and I'm a service manager. Very mechanically inclined.

Bosunsmate

Admiral
Re: 1975 Evinrude 115hp carb clean

Does the primer bulb hold firm with engine off?
No nothings crazy about putting it back together, just like a car, put back what you undo!

boobie

Supreme Mariner

Well you being a service manager and him a mechanic should both know how important it is to have an OEM factory service manual. You can get them here on I-Boats. All the specs and how to's are in them. With every vehicle I've ever owned I always got a factory manual.

Last edited:

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member