Powerhead compatible with 1979 lower evinrude

harleyguy302

Cadet
Hello

This is my first post. I'm new to outboards so have lots to learn and lots of questions. I have a 79 100hp evinrude (100999S) with a cracked power head. Just found out last night when I pulled off the head. Bummer. Any way so I hit craigslist to see about finding a new motor. I found a 76 115 HP Johnson (115ETL76). My question is since these are both V4 will this power head bolt up to my lower unit from the evinrude? The evinrude is set up fro dual cable steering and I don't think the Johnson is so I'd like to keep the steering setup.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Re: Powerhead compatible with 1979 lower evinrude

Sorry, you will have to keep looking.-----Mounting gasket is different between the 2 blocks.----There would also be issues with shift linkages.

harleyguy302

Cadet

Just my luck!! Any way another question....The current block the water jacket is cracked but the cylinder is ok. The motor was running until I discovered the cracks. Has anyone one tried to weld this before? I know some good welders that could probably do the job. Also there are rubber hoses in the cooling passages in the block, what are these for?

racerone

Supreme Mariner

These hoses guide water around the block for proper cooling.----Note ----water does not flow through these hoses.-------Need pictures of the crack to determine if it can be repaired.

harleyguy302

Cadet

Thats what I thought the hoses were for. I will get pictures tonight. Thanks.

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner