1987 Johnson 2.5 2 stroke outboard

dormanxc04

Seaman Apprentice
This is my first motor and boat that i purchased. I am planning on using the set up for duck hunting and getting up and down the local rivers. I got the motor and it was stuck. Im no mechanic at all, but i got the motor unstuck by reading posts on here. I feel so proud andaccomplished because im not a mechanic by any means. I got the motor to crank after the 3rd pull. I know i need to change spark plugs and lower unit oil to be safe about it. It sat for 7 months. Bought it from a mans wife where he passed away and she sold it to me. She had no idea about the boat. Just said she knew it ran right before he died. What other things should i do to the motor? The motor looks brand new under the cover. How can i tell if water is getting to the motor and cooling it also? I am planning on going and trying out the motor on saturdsy at this little lake. Any advice or help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

boobie

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1987 Johnson 2.5 2 stroke outboard

Change the water pump too.

dormanxc04

Seaman Apprentice

Would i be able to tell if water pump is messed up without buying another one and the otber one be fine? How do i tell if it works? Sorry im no mechanic. Just bear with me. And is it hard to change that water pump? Water pump is what pumps water to the motor to cool it correct?

QUOTE=boobie;4513164]Change the water pump too.[/QUOTE]

boobie

Supreme Mariner

Then take it out to the lake and make sure it doesn't over heat. Should see a fine mist of water coming out of the exhaust housing.

dormanxc04

Seaman Apprentice