1985 Johnson 25hp help

ermaclob

Cadet
So im pretty new to boating and there motors and am trying to get my first boat going. A Friend of mine sold me his old johnson engine for a good price. the problem im having with the engine is as follows. u pull start the engine and it will run on idell for about a 10 -20 sec but will kinda hiccup a few times and stall out you can even throttle it a bit before it shuts off. doing so will make it shut off faster.

from what my friend was telling me he thinks that its a carburetor issue. the engine has been sitting for about a year. he thinks it needs to be cleaned or something. playing with the needle valve seems to make it change a little :/

was wondering if this is a possible issue? how hard would it be to fix my self?

if its of any importance the motor has compression and are pretty equal on both spots.

jbjennings

Captain
Re: 1985 Johnson 25hp help

Your problem does sound like a fuel issue, but...... First I would check spark and make sure you do it with a tester that will verify that the coil will put out enough voltage/current to jump at least a 1/4" air gap with a bright blue pop. They should be the same on both cylinders. Next, clean your carbs (not hard--just make sure you soak them good and blow out all the tiny passages. Use a new carb kit because old needles/seats are bad about giving problems, along with leaky gaskets causing vacuum leaks.
Replace all your fuel lines under the cowl, make sure the fuel in your tank is fresh and clean, and put in a new water pump impeller whether you think it needs it or not. A spark tester is less than $10 at most auto parts stores. Get the air gap kind, not the neon light kind.
JMO,
JBJ

Last edited:

ermaclob

Cadet