Evinrude 4hp Deluxe Power Issues

T Kowsh

Cadet
1987 Evinrude 4hp Deluxe
Model # E4RDHCUD

I just purchased my first outboard, a clean 4hp Evinrude Deluxe to learn on though hands on expierence. Since acquiring ive installed a new Water Impellar Kit, Carb Kit, Fuel Pump Kit, Lower Unit Oil, and new clean ethanol free gas in a clean tank.

Problems.... Motor starts easy in 2-3 pulls and runs/sounds/shifts great in a tank. However once mounted to my 15ft Gheenoe the motor seems to bog down at WOT allowing me only about 5-6mph. I manipulate the high speed needle and see slightly improved results for only a few seconds with no speed increase and then it bogs back down. I see the best results with the throttle set just before WOT. Still it seems to no maintain the increase and drops the load. Any suggestions/advice on where to look next? Im new to outboards but have patience.

Thanks, Tom

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Evinrude 4hp Deluxe Power Issues

I think I would check that both plugs are firing. Get a spark tester should jump 3/8 of an inch.
Be sure the link n sync is right. The cam under the flywheel should just contact the throttle roller in-between the lines on the cam
as the speed control advances.I believe the cam can be adjusted to make that happen.
Check that the mechanism functions as it should.

Vic.S

Rear Admiral

Will do... Thanks

Got the correct plugs fitted ?? Champion QL86C I beleive for that model, maybe QL77JC4. Gapped at 0.030"

BTW correct fuel mix is 50:1 even if has decals or if the manual says 100:1

Correct settings for the carb needles (I thought it only had a slow speed needle though !!) can be achieved by following Joe Reeves' instructions at
http://forums.iboats.com/engine-fre...sorted-carb-variations-joe-reeves-167352.html

Last edited:

boobie

Supreme Mariner

When running it do a cylinder drop test on it to see if both cylinders are firing.

nwcove

Admiral